Turning the clock backwards

2017-03-03 18.48.43

I have been thinking about it for so long, but I guess I must accept the truth – I’m trapped in a bloody timely messy zone, for quite a while now. It’s just that no matter what I do or try as an alternative, I never have enough time on me. I’m always, almost all the time feeling tired. It’s been months and months and I have failed to get out of this zone. Not that I have done much on my part to get out of this mess either.

Though I am not letting this fact hamper my regular work life, but it only means that there is additional stress and burden on my shoulders. So, I have no time management issues professionally but personally, there is the red flag right there. Things that I want to do and should do to keep my mind intellectually nourished are compromised immensely, and that is kind of itching me, Big Time!

I guess, it’s cause I’m getting old. Well, people in general don’t get this part ‘cause they think being the four footer that I am, I know jack about ageing. On the contrary, I feel I know a lot more about it than most people. The fact is none of us are getting any younger actually, so it’s silly to try so hard to hold on to acting young and refusing to grow up.

My problem here is that I want to the turn the clock backwards. I need one hour more in my life and it’s not happening. However, I’m listing down ten things that I need to do pronto to get my act together or I might end up a dead cabbage.

Here’s my list of stuff that needs to be sorted soon, real soon.

  1. Get some sleep already

This is where it all started actually. I need proper sleep. I’m not as lucky as some of my friends who look all fresh even with two or four hours of sleep. When I get back from work, I’m tired and I’ve got some daily chores to handle. There are times when I am so tired I crash for a nap, which elongates a bit too much. In turn, I wake up late, complete the pending house work, sleep later than I should and wake up feeling tired the next morning at 6:30 am again. My sleep cycle is totally screwed. So I need to start crashing early. I am going to start by sleeping 30 minutes early and then take it back to one hour and then two hours. This should do! (I hope)

  1. Drink water…plenty of it

Another thing I suck at. I know it has to be done and I am definitely not drinking enough of water. So, at work I will make sure that I re-fill my water flask every two hours. And when I’m home instead of waiting for my sister to bring our water bottle in the room, I would rather fill it up myself and keep it handy.

  1. Work-0ut damn it

It’s shameful that I have to write it down as a reminder for myself because I am one of those few people who were so into working out even as a kid. Now, I struggle to even do the basic exercises early morning just to relax the muscles. So, I need to start allocating 15-20 minutes for at least three days on the weekday, extend this to 30 minutes work out on weekends and once I’m more settled, I need to get in to the habit of walking once again following the same time pattern.

  1. Pray, my child

There was a time, not long ago, when I was actually quite settled as far as my prayers schedule was concerned. All five-times and what a blissful feeling that was. I have not been the sort of person, who needs reminders to pray on time ever. But lately, things have gone down. I do start the day with morning prayers, but then the rest of them are missed either cause there is no room or space to pray at work or I’m simply too tied up with deadlines and blah blah blah. Dire need of disciplinary action is required and I think I can do this, cause I just feel I can.

  1. Turn the page

I really need to 😛 But yes speaking of my reading habits, unlike what many people think, I’m actually the slowest, tortoise cum snail of a reader. I am so slow, I may take six bloody months to complete a book. It’s embarrassing actually when I live with people who can finish their books overnight. But I can’t help it, I am a slow reader when it comes to books and nothing ever fascinates me so much either. I’m generally very sharp when it comes to news and current affairs etc. but yeah literature, the real potion for the mind – I need to work on this one seriously. So, I am going to read at least two pages daily before calling it a day, then increase the number of pages slowly and slowly. I’d still be a tortoise, but at least I’d be turning the pages.

  1. It’s show time

I have always loved watching movies and now I follow some select TV shows too. It’s a healthy form of entertainment. I’d be honest, it really helped me in keeping my mind occupied while dealing with some difficult stuff. You know, at times, you do realize no person can really help or hear you out. You are technically alone in your shit, so that’s when I started exploring the shows. I am at it again and they don’t disappoint as such.

  1. That snake skin is not real

So going back to growing up and getting old. It’s happening. I do feel, I need to start a more practical skin care regime. I’d be honest, it is totally on my mind, but the fact is I’m not making millions here and I need to pick and choose on stuff to make sure I don’t go broke each month. So, the only way I can do this is to start my skin care/hair treatments in alternative months without going overboard.

  1. Click it

Few people know that I love to take pictures and capture moments. I’m not a pro and nor do I need DSLRs to show-off my work, it’s just something that I do fairly well and I enjoy it when I take them with my cell phone. So anyway, after some sad incidents that took place in the previous years, I did slow down on my photography project like hell. As they say, time is a healer and I am pretty much on it already. I do intend to share my work on my instagram account though.

  1. Why so sulky?

I can be really sulky, not with everyone, but with people I love and care. That’s the deal and they know it. Generally speaking, it is quite my nature from when I got hold off my senses and this might never really go. In my defense, I have to say that there are countless times when my folks push me to that extent and really test my patience. Anyway, anyway, I will try, all I can, to keep the sulkiness at a low, but it won’t go lovers!

  1. Cross-Talk (quit this shit)

I’ll be honest, I’m surrounded by this shit. It’s difficult to get away from it, but it is the need of time. Cross-talk in workplaces are a killer, they waste your time, get you into trouble, give people the opportunity to bitch about you unnecessarily and a whole lot more. This whole concept of cross-talk kind of disgusts me so much, I didn’t even feel like putting it on my list, but then, shit happened. This is one thing, I’m actually quite cautiously working on already. It’s crappy and I don’t want to deal with crap – let’s just put it that way. If you need any tips on how to handle cross-talk, let me know.

So that is my action plan guys. Pray that I can go about it practically and turn the clock backwards soon!

Leave a Reply

